Saturday, March 25, 2017

Saturday Short

Exhibition Catalogue
Cover Art for Beautiful Losers*

Today's short is the trailer for Beautiful Losers (2008) by Aaron Rose. The film features Ed Templeton, Barry McGee, Margaret Kilgallen, Jo Jackson, Chris Johanson, Thomas Campbell, Geoff McFedtridge, Mike Mills, Stephen Powers, Harmony Korine, and Shepard Fairy—a group of artists considered leaders in the 1990s "do-it-yourself" youth sub-cultures of skateboarding, surf, punk music, hip hope, and graffiti.

The music in the film is by Money Mark.

* Aaron Rose, Christian Strike, et al., Beautiful Losers: Contemporary Art and Street Culture (D.A.P./Iconoclast, 2nd Ed., 2005)

The catalogue accompanied the exhibition at Orange County Museum of Art in 2005.

No comments: